Spatial offset of coherence using PALSAR-2 and stripmapApp

Added by Lennart Kramer 4 months ago

Hi everyone:)
I have two Alos Palsar-2 SLCs and I'd like to create a coherence map. I tried using the alos2app.py, but for some reason I didn't manage to make it run. There was always a .xml-file missing. So I thought I'd give the stripmapApp a try as my data is dual-pol stripmap. I just called "stripmapApp.py --stripmapApp.xml" and everything worked just fine until I plotted the coherence in qgis. It seems like there is a constant offset of about 500m to the west (see attached image). Unfortunately I have no Idea of what the reason might be. I tried downloading a dem with dem.py, but didn't make any difference. I'd be super grateful for any pointer on some good practices on PALSAR-2 processing.

One of the SLCs looks like this:

IMG-HV-ALOS2067251007-150821-FBDR1.1__A",

the other one is from October 2015.

I'm sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm kind of new to it and not able to proceed with my own skills at the moment.
Thanks in advance for any help:)

offset.png (786.3 kB)

Replies (12)

RE: Spatial offset of coherence using PALSAR-2 and stripmapApp - Added by Piyush Agram 4 months ago

~500m offset seems suspiciously close to the default fill value for DEMs (-500m). I would check the z.rdr / hgt.rdr file in geometry to make sure that the DEM you provided covered the actual scene.

Why not let stripmapApp.py download the DEM by itself and check. It should get the correct area, without you having to provide a DEM.

RE: Spatial offset of coherence using PALSAR-2 and stripmapApp - Added by Eric Fielding 4 months ago

Were you using the old separate `alos2app.py` or the new integrated `alos2App.py` included with ISCE2 v2.3.3? The new `alos2App.py` has new input files with examples in `examples/input_files/alos2/alos2App.xml`. The new alos2App also can automatically download the DEM.